New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Review of the US Optics SN-3 3.2-17x44
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Check GunBroker.com for SWFA's No Reserve and No Minimum bid firearm auctions.

Review of the US Optics SN-3 3.2-17x44

 Post Reply Post Reply   Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 20:27
ccoker View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: February/13/2008
Location: Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 2032
Review of the US Optics SN-3 3.2-17x44

USO scopes are all handmade, to order in Brea, California,
They have earned a reputation for building some of the finest optics in the world with an emphasis on extreme durability.

It is nice to be able speak with someone and go over your intended use, likes and dislikes and come up with a scope that is built for YOUR needs.
Not what some marketing guy THINKs you need.

Typical build time is a few months and I can honestly say, well worth it.

Specs:
Gap Mil reticle
EREK elevation
capped windage
digital red illumination
ERGO focus
44mm objective

On top of my LTR with a jewell trigger and a Manners Precision MCS-T stock with 4 color digital camo



A side view of the scope showing the new digital illumination system.


The EREK knob.
This is in 1/10 mil clicks with 9 mils per revolution (two total revolutions available)
Running a 100 yard zero with my 308 and 175g Sierra Matchkings at 2575 FPS I need 10.5 mils of correction to hit at 1K.
I go one full revolution up from zero and continue on to hit the 10.5 mark that is etched on the dial (top row)

With the EREK zero stop you are able to set a hard stop at your desired zero (100 in my case) and be able to instantly return to it.
I tested the scope's adjustments for tracking both windage and elevation numerous times and they were always spot on.



Capped windage knob



View through USO SN3 3-17 at 3x, 500 yards in foreground, 750 high right and 1K in distance



AT 10x, 500 yards in foreground



at 17x at 1k
Amazing scope



Conclusion:

I have been running this scope for some time now while I have not abused it, nor do I intend to, by all accounts USO builds extremely tough and reliable scopes.
I am extremely impressed with this optic, the glass clarity is outstanding, the adjustment knobs track 100% true.
I like the Mil Gap reticle which is their most popular.  I dial in elevation for long range and hold for windage.

The Mil Gap reticle is easy to know where you are at and not have to be hunting for it.

This scope came with the brand new digital illumination system which is a little too bright at it's lowest setting for truely low light conditions.

USO accepted feedback very well from the shooting community and came up with a new system that has fewer steps of brightness as well as lower, now NVG compatible brightness.
This is a user replaceable item, nice to be able to not have to send a scope back should you wish to change to the new system.


This is a fantastic scope and highly recommended.

for more info:
www.usoptics.com

Edited by ccoker - August/02/2011 at 20:30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 20:40
Kickboxer View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar
Moderator

Joined: February/13/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 18344
Nice, Charles.  I almost traded my Hensoldt in on a US Optics.  Still not out of the question that I will get one.  Your review "improves" my possibilities.  
So show us some hits on steel...
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 20:44
SVT_Tactical View Drop Down
Optics Retard
Optics Retard
Avatar
Chief Sackscratch

Joined: December/17/2009
Location: NorthCackalacky
Status: Offline
Points: 28762
Excellent Nice review. 
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 21:40
Urimaginaryfrnd View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar
Resident Redneck

Joined: June/20/2005
Location: Iowa
Status: Offline
Points: 13882
Ive wanted one for years almost as badly as I want a Heinsoldt.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 22:14
Kickboxer View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar
Moderator

Joined: February/13/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 18344
Did I tell you my wife gave me a Hensoldt???
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/02/2011 at 23:21
koshkin View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar
Dark Lord of Optics

Joined: June/15/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10977
Originally posted by Kickboxer Kickboxer wrote:

Did I tell you my wife gave me a Hensoldt???

I think this is the first time I hear of that.  It is probably news to Wes as well....

ILya
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 04:58
cheaptrick View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar

Joined: September/27/2004
Location: South Carolina
Status: Offline
Points: 20478
Nice review. 
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 09:49
Rancid Coolaid View Drop Down
Optics Jedi Master
Optics Jedi Master
Avatar

Joined: January/19/2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 7703
I've owned a few SN3s just like that one, the EREK is my favorite turret of everything used.

My criticism of USO has always been glass quality; sometimes it is very good, sometimes it is not-so-good.  With your review, I am hoping this is a "good glass" phase for them.

There is much value in being able to call the guy that owns the company and talk about his product.

My USOs have been very durable, very repeatable, and an overall great scopes.  The ability to customize is a great asset in many instances.


Glad you like the scope.  Nice paint job on the gun, too.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 09:50
jonoMT View Drop Down
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Avatar

Joined: November/13/2008
Location: Montana
Status: Offline
Points: 4618
Nice review, Charlie. The 3.2-17 looks like a good pairing with the LTR (one of my all-time favorite rifles. BTW, I'm impressed you get that MV...with 175s no less. I've only ever gotten to 2675 with 165s and a pretty hot load).
 
It's cool that USO makes the illumination user-serviceable...shows a lot of attention to design and customer needs and desires.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 10:28
shooter07 View Drop Down
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Avatar
Shooting Sprout

Joined: June/12/2010
Location: PA
Status: Offline
Points: 4850
Thanks for the awesome review Charles! As always, it's appreciated. Excellent 
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 10:34
Rancid Coolaid View Drop Down
Optics Jedi Master
Optics Jedi Master
Avatar

Joined: January/19/2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 7703
Originally posted by jonoMT jonoMT wrote:

 
It's cool that USO makes the illumination user-serviceable...shows a lot of attention to design and customer needs and desires.

That feature was a LONG TIME coming.  I bought and sold 2 SN3s from when they started talking about it to when they finally got it out the door.  Looks like a nice feature, and a huge advance over the prior version.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 10:38
stickbow46 View Drop Down
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Optics Master Extraordinaire
Avatar

Joined: January/07/2009
Location: Benton, Pa
Status: Offline
Points: 4673
Thanks for the review & pics Charlie,nice reviewExcellent
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/03/2011 at 13:09
BeltFed View Drop Down
Optics God
Optics God
Avatar

Joined: February/12/2008
Location: Ky
Status: Offline
Points: 16096
Originally posted by Urimaginaryfrnd Urimaginaryfrnd wrote:

Ive wanted one for years almost as badly as I want a Heinsoldt.
 Same here
I heard Dan has one. I think his wife gave it to him, but I'm not sure.
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Similar Threads: "Review of the US Optics SN-3 3.2-17x44"
Subject Author Forum Replies Last Post
US Optics SN-3 3.2-17x44 w/ MDMOA Reticle nate0317 Optics For Sale 2
Thoughts on US Optics SN-4 1.5-6x28 Marine24 Tactical Scopes 8
us optics SN-4S Polskiogorki Tactical Scopes 7
optic thoughts review still applicable djp0623 Rifle Scopes 1
Explore Optics SF 8-32X 50mm SF TTT Review Got_SIG Rifle Scopes 10
Chinese Optics Reviews-Out of necessity stangfish Rifle Scopes 18
WTS USO SN3 3.2-17x44 (Off the market) Rancid Coolaid Optics For Sale 10
Gun-Tests Optics Review Part II Rusty Binoculars 11 11/29/2005 11:58:23 AM
Barska Optics Reviews.... cheaptrick Rifle Scopes 49 1/7/2007 6:19:32 PM
Iraq Optic Reviews Chris8541 Tactical Scopes 105 10/13/2007 6:23:35 PM


This page was generated in 0.344 seconds.