New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - opinions on LVSF scope...
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Check GunBroker.com for SWFA's No Reserve and No Minimum bid firearm auctions.

opinions on LVSF scope...

 Post Reply Post Reply   Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/09/2004 at 21:21
redneckbmxer24 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: June/02/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1055
just want to get soem more opinions, i have mine, but im sure there are some other great ones out there... im looking to get a scope for a remington LVSF in either 223, or 22-250, this will be my go to rifle for "vermint blastin", and my predator rifle, as i dont have a designated one yet. it will be used for shots on chucks no more than 400 yards, most likely within 300 yards, and will be used as a walk around predator rifle out to 500 yards. i dont need a drop compensating reticle, or anything, so heres the lineup.
 
Nikon Buckmaster 4.5-14x44 with mildot
Leupold VXII 4-12 silver FD
Leupold VXII 4-12 matte FD
Bushnell 6-24x40 (whew thats a jump in power)
 
ok, theres what i have considered. i really liek the silver, as it has the stainless barrel, but i would like to hear all other opinions.
 
cory
 
BTW, thanks chris, and SWFA admin for makin me optics pro
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/12/2004 at 14:25
Chris Farris View Drop Down
TEAM SWFA - Admin
TEAM SWFA - Admin
Avatar
swfa.com

Joined: October/01/2003
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Points: 7765
Of the ones you mention I would go with the Buckmaster because its larger objective will help on the higher powers and that is what you will be using to make those shots.  Even better would be a 4.5-14x50 or 4-16x50.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/12/2004 at 15:08
redneckbmxer24 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: June/02/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1055
chris,
do you think a nikon monarch in either 3.3-10x44, or 5.5-16x44 would be a better choice for clarity. im not quite sure about going all the way up to the 5.5-16, becuase after all, this is a walk around gun.
 
cory
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/12/2004 at 15:37
Chris Farris View Drop Down
TEAM SWFA - Admin
TEAM SWFA - Admin
Avatar
swfa.com

Joined: October/01/2003
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Points: 7765
Big differnece in glass jumping up to the Monarch.  Much brighter and clearer.  I agree 5.5-16.5 would be too much for a walking around gun.  The 3.3-10 would work great.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/12/2004 at 16:07
redneckbmxer24 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: June/02/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1055

i think im going to go witht he monarch 3.3-10. now, to mildot, or not to mildot... that is the question...

 

cory

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: July/23/2004 at 20:42
redneckbmxer24 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: June/02/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1055

just bought the gun from the GGVG classifieds, its the LVSF in 223. hopefully in a few weeks i will be ordering a zeiss conquest 3-9x40 for it, and one for a model 7 magnum in 300 saum

 

cory

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/22/2004 at 22:02
redneckbmxer24 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master
Avatar

Joined: June/02/2004
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1055

after thinking LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNGGGGGG and hard, i jsut ordered a silver 4-12x40 VXII with FD, and free rings/bases for the LVSF. i know i will be happy. just the fact that its form SWFA already makes me happy

cory

 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Similar Threads: "opinions on LVSF scope..."
Subject Author Forum Replies Last Post
swift premier scopes opinion rob70 Tactical Scopes 1 8/25/2004 11:08:50 AM
Swift premier scopes opinion? rob70 Rifle Scopes 1 8/25/2004 9:02:37 PM
opinions on scopes obi-wan Rifle Scopes 5 12/26/2004 2:48:29 PM
Burris Scope Opinions 300winlongmag Rifle Scopes 7 1/8/2005 12:12:00 AM
Scope buying opinions romansolo Rifle Scopes 2 9/28/2005 4:09:27 PM
Request for spotting scope opinions RichM Spotting Scopes 1 5/26/2006 10:19:34 AM
Scope for 300 WSM - Want your opinion blsnelling Rifle Scopes 5 6/7/2006 9:32:10 PM
scope opinions Jeepaholic Rifle Scopes 6 6/28/2006 9:42:51 PM
Lapping scope rings...opinions? ChrisGarrett Tactical Scopes 15 1/15/2007 2:43:58 PM
Deer Rifle Scope Opinion? JDL25 Rifle Scopes 16 2/17/2007 12:37:09 PM


This page was generated in 0.469 seconds.