New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Need some opinions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Check GunBroker.com for SWFA's No Reserve and No Minimum bid firearm auctions.

Need some opinions

 Post Reply Post Reply   Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: November/12/2008 at 17:09
tjtjwdad View Drop Down
Optics Journeyman
Optics Journeyman


Joined: December/11/2007
Status: Offline
Points: 365
I'm torn between a Nikon Buckmaster 4.5-14x40 and a Nikon Monarch 4-16x42 for a 17 HMR.  I really like them both but for a 17 HMR where most shots are under 250 yards is the Monarch worth the extra $120.00 - $150.00 more.  I have a Burris FFII in 4.5-14x42 on another 17 HMR and I'm happy with it (bright and clear) but I would prefer a side focus scope.  As far as clarity, is there a significant difference between these two scopes?
 
Thanks for the inputs.
 
Jim 
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: November/12/2008 at 17:42
cheaptrick View Drop Down
MODERATOR
MODERATOR
Avatar

Joined: September/27/2004
Location: South Carolina
Status: Offline
Points: 20468
Hello, Jim.
 
The BM is going to be close optically to your FF2.
 
I owned an older 4.5-14x BM w/ Nikoplex and really thought a lot of it. Good scope.
Also owned a 4-16x Monarch BDC and liked it very well.
 
 
 
Is the Monarch worth $150 more than the Buck Master? 
I say yeah, but only you can answer that question.  
If you like the FF2, you'll love the new Monarch.      
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: November/12/2008 at 20:16
tjtjwdad View Drop Down
Optics Journeyman
Optics Journeyman


Joined: December/11/2007
Status: Offline
Points: 365
Thank you.  It seems like choosing a scope these days is a lot like going to Baskin-Robbins for ice cream, decisions...decisions...decisions...  I've been eyeing some of those BDC reticles for ground squrrels in open fields since that is pretty much what this 17 is used for. 
 
Thanks again.
 
Jim
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: November/13/2008 at 14:27
medic52 View Drop Down
Optics Professional
Optics Professional
Avatar

Joined: October/05/2006
Location: Missouri
Status: Offline
Points: 893

MONARCH...................

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)     Back to Top Direct Link To This Post Posted: November/15/2008 at 15:42
tjtjwdad View Drop Down
Optics Journeyman
Optics Journeyman


Joined: December/11/2007
Status: Offline
Points: 365
Thanks to all for the inputa..... In any event it will be a side focus, no doubt about that.
 
Jim
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Similar Threads: "Need some opinions"
Subject Author Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendation / opinion needed ALAN Tactical Scopes 2 1/14/2005 2:20:22 PM
Need opinion biggun Rifle Scopes 7 11/17/2005 5:27:25 PM
Need Opinion On Pentex Pioneer mbowerma Rifle Scopes 23 8/30/2006 6:49:46 PM
opinions needed tjboy Target 4 1/16/2007 2:47:01 PM
opinions needed on kahles 10x42 bigdave2006 Binoculars 11 11/22/2006 8:53:03 AM
I NEED YOUR OPINION bsjohns2 Rifle Scopes 22 2/2/2007 2:52:24 PM
xpert opinion needed jkll Rifle Scopes 2 2/17/2007 5:35:07 PM
Leupold 6x42 opinion needed jkll Rifle Scopes 3 3/17/2007 8:55:11 PM
need a new scope, need input jjrgr21 Rifle Scopes 23
Need more elevation RickCunn Rifle Scopes 2


This page was generated in 0.469 seconds.