OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Mounts & Accessories > Rings and bases
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Scope mount confusion

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics Apprentice
Optics Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Technical Fowl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scope mount confusion
    Posted: May/01/2006 at 21:37
I am new to the world of rifle optics, and am a little confused about the different ways to mount a scope to a rifle (weaver, dual dovetail, standard, etc).  Can you explain? 
Dale Clifford View Drop Down
Optics Jedi Knight
Optics Jedi Knight

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dale Clifford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/01/2006 at 21:56
Rubber bands-seriously it depends on how much you want to spend and runs like this- design a board to cross a stream knowing that the load will never be for than 50 ft.lbs. The new board is designed for 300 ft/lbs but some of the old boards are only 100 ft/lbs. , but because the old board is not new and shiney no one will buy it. Weaver quadralocs are about $22 and bases about $10. Some ninja (tactical) runs $100 for base and $300 for rings. What you pay for inbetween these extremes are, finish, (polish) and ease of use.
Technical Fowl View Drop Down
Optics Apprentice
Optics Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Technical Fowl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/01/2006 at 22:06
I haven't purchased a scope yet, probably a Leupold VX-III 3.5-10x40.  It will be mounted on a Winchester Model 70 classic stainless in 7mm Rem Mag.
hotshot110 View Drop Down
Optics Apprentice
Optics Apprentice