OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Firearms, Bows, and Ammunition > Reloading & Ballistics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Want to start Reloading

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Optics Apprentice
Optics Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote loaded4bear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Want to start Reloading
    Posted: February/28/2009 at 13:50

I've been putting it off for so many years and now I want to start reloading.  Some recommend a progressive press like a Dillon but maybe I should just start with good quality single stage RCBS equipment.  Is it best to start with a kit or should I purchase everything individually?  There's alot of questions to ask so I might as well start with the basics, equipment, books etc. 

thanks

rifle looney View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rifle looney Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February/28/2009 at 14:00
As a beginner I would skip the Dillon and go with the RCBS in kit form ,add or change as you see fit after some practice and reading A LOT,there are a couple things that don't come in the kit you will need.you can get these separately from the manufacture of your choice, you don't need high dollar stuff but don't go cheap. get at least two reloading manuals. the first should be, LYMAN reloading basics. and then the one that manufactures the bullets you will be using or one that lists multiple. 

Edited by rifle looney - February/28/2009 at 14:31
ckk1106 View Drop Down
Optics Master
Optics Master

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ckk1106 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February/28/2009 at 14:20
Originally posted by rifle looney rifle looney wrote: